Skip to content Skip to footer site map

SLC student named men's rugby player of the year


TORONTO - Second-year 8-man Eric Jadowski (Ottawa) is the 2011 Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) Division II men's rugby player of the year.

Jadowski scored two tries during the regular season, including one against Algonquin in the final minutes to seal a 31-27 victory for St. Lawrence-Kingston on Oct. 6. A team leader and captain, he is a feared opponent throughout the league with his strong running style and crushing tackles. His Vikings teammates fed off of his quiet "lead from the front" style of captaincy. Jadowski is also an OCAA all-star.

Georgian's Steve Sasseville (Orillia, Ont.) is the 2011 OCAA Division II rookie of the year. The smallest player on the Grizzlies, Sasseville plays with giant determination and heart. He is an intense competitor when attacking with the ball or defending. His consistent ability to tackle under pressure, often against larger opponents, has gained him respect and praise from his teammates, opponents, and spectators. Sasseville's speed and ball handling skills make him a constant threat, and he routinely gains positive ground with the ball, accented by his bright yellow cleats streaking down the field.

St. Lawrence's Brad Greenwood is the 2011 OCAA Division II coach of the year. Coming off a 2-2-2 record in 2010, the Vikings improved to 3-1-0 this season, good for second place in Division II. St. Lawrence was also strong defensively, allowing just 56 points against this season. Greenwood is in his second year as head coach.

Loyalist's Connor McCann (Belleville, Ont. ) is the 2011 Division II scoring champion. The second-year player led OCAA with six tries totaling 30 points. He is also an OCAA all-star.

Other OCAA all-stars include Phil Assad (Ottawa) and Bill Shaw (Ottawa) of Algonquin; Justin Benotto (Lindsay, Ont.) and Tom Exton (Everett, Ont.) of Fleming-Lindsay; Georgian's Chris Wood (Dundalk, Ont.); Loyalist's Jesse Gunter (Trenton, Ont.); and Alex Shotton (Kingston, Ont.) of St. Lawrence-Kingston.


Men's Rugby Division II Player of the Year
Eric Jadowski, St. Lawrence-Kingston

Men's Rugby Division II Rookie of the Year
Steve Sasseville, Georgian

Men's Rugby Division II Coach of the Year
Brad Greenwood, St. Lawrence-Kingston

Men's Rugby Division II Scoring Champion
Connor McCann, Loyalist

Men's Rugby Division II All-Stars
Phil Assad, Algonquin
Bill Shaw, Algonquin
Justin Benotto, Fleming-Lindsay
Tom Exton, Fleming-Lindsay
Steve Sasseville, Georgian
Chris Wood, Georgian
Jesse Gunter, Loyalist
Connor McCann, Loyalist
Eric Jadowski, St. Lawrence-Kingston
Alex Shotton, St. Lawrence-Kingston

- OCAA -


The Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) is a recognized leader in intercollegiate athletics in the province, dedicated to student athlete and sport development. The OCAA has 31 members sponsoring 16 league and tournament championships.

For additional information please contact:
Josh Bell-Webster
Marketing and Communications
Ontario Colleges Athletic Association
Tel: 416-426-7041
Fax: 416-426-7308