Skip to content Skip to footer site map

St. Lawrence College graduates nominated for Premier’s Awards


Four graduates from St. Lawrence College are among the more than 100 nominees for this year’s Premier’s Awards for outstanding college graduates, which will be awarded Monday at a gala event in Toronto.

"The Premier’s Awards celebrate the many successes of Ontario’s college graduates," said Chris Whitaker, President & CEO, St. Lawrence College. "We are proud of the achievements of our graduates and are pleased to see them being honoured at this year’s Premier’s Awards."

The nominees from St. Lawrence College are:

Bruce McLennan, Business – Finance, 1972

Bruce McLennan is the former President of Harris Computer Services. Having sold the company in 2006, he has just completed a term on the Board, advising the new owners. At the time of sale, the company employed 35 and had revenues over $10 million.Today, Bruce sits on the board of the Queensway Carleton Hospital Foundation. It was one of his past volunteer roles – as chairman of the Tour/Nortel Bikeathon in support of the Children’s Hospital – that introduced him to his post-retirement career: he dedicates ten hours per week to fundraising for the Canadian Nature Museum.

Andrew Leggett, Child and Youth Worker , 1984

Broken Arrow Residential Treatment Services, Clinical Director and Co-Owner
Andy is the Clinical Director and Co-Owner of Broken Arrow Residential Treatment Services, a private Treatment Foster Care Program licensed through the Ministry of Children and Youth Services in Ontario, with 35 Foster Homes and 65 approved beds. Andy oversees a staff of trained clinical support workers, but also meets personally with each and every child placed in his care. He is involved in day-to-day assessments, goal setting and treatment plan development and implementation with the children placed with Broken Arrow, and liaises with the government agencies in Ontario, Nunavut, Quebec and Newfoundland and Labrador, as well as the Metis, Aboriginal and Inuit communities that have made Broken Arrow a preferred care provider for some of their most troubled children.

Heather Arthur, Diploma Nursing , 1978

Cornwall Community Hospital, Chief Clinical Officer
As Chief Clinical Officer of the Cornwall Community Hospital, Heather Arthur is the chief nursing executive responsible for 550 employees in two hospitals, five mental health facilities and various other clinical operations. But she got to where she is today by taking on tough assignments – whether it was the politically-charged amalgamation of local ambulance services, or the merger of two beloved community hospitals, each with their own cultures and procedures. She began her nursing career in emergency and critical care, and has been at the centre of critical changes in health care for her entire career.

Katherine Porter, Fine Arts, 1981

H’Art School, Founder & Executive Director
Katherine Porter is the founder, Executive Director, and visionary who created H’art School. Twelve years ago, she brought together a lifetime dedicated to the arts, along with her natural skills as a community organizer, and her commitment to social justice to reach out to adults with intellectual disabilities and give them a place to express themselves creatively. But H’art is more than paint on canvas, it is a place where her students learn to reach out into the community they live in, to cherish the philosophy of lifelong learning, and to share their spirit and joy with their fellow citizens.

The Premier’s Awards ceremony takes place Monday evening at the Sheraton hotel in Toronto. More than 600 people are expected to attend the celebration, which is part of the college sector’s annual conference, the Higher Education Summit.

The Premier’s Awards ceremony will be hosted by Prof. Rod Carley, of Canadore College in North Bay, who was the 2009 winner of the best lecturer competition hosted by TVOntario.

A distinguished panel was assembled to judge this year’s awards: Jamie Kennedy, chef and owner of Jamie Kennedy Kitchens; Laura Formusa, the president and CEO of Hydro One; Don Drummond, the former senior vice-president and chief economist at TD Bank Financial Group; Mary Ito, host of Fresh Air on CBC-Radio 1; Sue Graham Parker, the senior vice-president of public, corporate and government affairs at Scotiabank; Frances Lankin, the former president and CEO of United Way Toronto; Gisèle Quenneville, the host of Panorama on TFO; and Kevin Costante, the Deputy Minister of Education.

"Every one of our nominees has achieved excellence," Chris Whitaker, President & CEO, St. Lawrence College said. "These awards honour their achievements and remind us of the value of higher education in Ontario."

- 30 -

For more information:

Laura Tulchinsky, Communications
St. Lawrence College
613-544-5400 ext. 1291