Skip to content Skip to footer site map

Vikings Athletics Awards


More than 125 people attended the Annual Vikings Athletic Banquet last Thursday evening, April 9 to celebrate their stellar year of athletic achievements.

In 2008-09 the Vikings overall accomplishments included:
- 124 varsity athletes competing across Ontario representing 9 varsity teams
- 11 League All-Stars
- 2 League Top Scorers
- 1 Division II OCAA Championship
- 2 League Scoring Champions
- 3 Regional Coaches of the Year
- 1 OCAA Coach of the Year
- 1 OCAA Player of the Year
- 34 Ontario All-Academic Award Winners
- 4 Canadian All-Academic Award Winners
- 1 All- Canadian
- 1 CCAA Athlete of the Month
- 2 OCAA Athletes of the Week
- 3 OCAA Team of the Week Honours

The Award recipients were as follows:

St. Lawrence College Vikings Athletic Award Winners
2008-09 Rookie of the Year – Terry Nam
2008-09 Team Leadership Award- Scott Garrett

Cross Country:
2008-09 Rookie of the Year- Brant Stachel
2008-09 Most Improved Runner- Anthony Colangeli
2008-09 Most Valuable Runner- Lucas Nutbrown

Women’s Soccer
2008-09 Rookie of the Year- Jocelyn VanWynsberghe
2008-09 Most Improved Player- Andrea Flieler
2008-09 Most Valuable Player- Rosa Phillip

Men’s Soccer
2008-09 Rookie of the Year- Eric Lee
2008-09 Most Valuable Player- Erol Agaoglu

Women’s Indoor Soccer
2008-09 Rookie of the Year- Courtney Milner
2008-09 Most Improved Player- Bailey Graham
2008-09 Most Valuable Player- Nicole Cathcart & Courtney Milner

Men’s Indoor Soccer
2008-09 Most Valuable Player – Dan Descroseilliers

Women’s Basketball
2008-09 Defensive Player of the Year – Danielle Greek
2008-09 Most Improved Player – Cory Ridgely
2008-09 Most Valuable Player – Rachel Niven & Bailey Lomas

Men’s Basketball
2008-09 Rookie of the Year- Ajahmo Clarke
2008-09 Top Defensive Player & Team Leadership Award- Remy Simpson
2008-09 Most Valuable Player- Mathieu Riendeau

Men’s Rugby
2008-09 Rookie of the Year – Brad Charlton & Dylan Bibby
2008-09 Most Improved Player – Joshua Turcotte & Ryan Mallette
2008-09 Most Valuable Player – Sergio Grice & Faron Ling

Major Award Winners
Boston Pizza Sportsperson of the Year- Terry Nam
Barry Ellerbeck Award- Bailey Lomas

Male Athlete of the Year- Erol Agaoglu
Female Athlete of the Year- Rachel Niven