Skip to content Skip to footer site map

Terms of Reference

Vision, Mission, and Values:

The St. Lawrence College Strategic Plan outlines the vision, mission, and values of our College.

  • VISION:  “Rooted in our communities, we will be a globally recognized college delivering innovative learning opportunities and preparing career-ready graduates to be leaders in their fields.”
  • MISSION: “We are dedicated to student success, academic excellence, and leadership in our communities.”
  1. We put our students first. “Our staff is committed to providing our students with the programs, services, and personal support to ensure their success.”
  2. Through teamwork we work to “deliver excellence in all that we do – for our students, our colleagues, and our communities.”
  3. “We believe building upon our achievements and focusing on innovation will advance the College and allow us to meet the evolving needs of our students now and in the future.”
  4. “We exemplify integrity; it governs our actions and decision-making processes.

The St. Lawrence College Aboriginal Education Council (AEC) fully supports the vision, mission, and values of the College in striving to meet the unique needs of Aboriginal students and their communities. Aboriginal students include First Nations (status and non-status), Metis, and Inuit.


As part of the Aboriginal mandate with the Ministry, St. Lawrence College established an Aboriginal Education Council in 1993. The AEC supports and enhances the implementation of the goals set out by the College in its Postsecondary Education Fund for Aboriginal Learners (PEFAL) program and the meeting of the objectives of the Multi-Year Accountability Agreement. Members of the AEC have the responsibility of advocating for the needs and interests of Aboriginal students.

Specifically, the AEC will

  • constantly and consistently endeavour to facilitate success for our Aboriginal learners in their post-secondary journey, knowing that the journey itself is as important as the end result;
  • strive to increase the sensitivity and awareness of the College to Aboriginal culture and issues;
  • work to create a welcoming, safe, and comfortable environment for Aboriginal students where they can thrive and flourish as individuals and as members of our community.


The Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities (MTCU) is committed to increasing Aboriginal peoples’ access to and success in postsecondary education and training, and to closing the participation and achievement gap between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people in the area of postsecondary education and training. The four operating principles of the AEC align with these commitments.

  •  ACCESS and PARTICIPATION: Increase the number of Aboriginal learners accessing and participating in postsecondary education and training;
  • COMPLETION: Increase Aboriginal learners’ completion of postsecondary education and training programs resulting in degrees, diplomas, and certificates, and/or apprenticeship registration and certification;
  • TRANSITION: Support/enhance/improve Aboriginal learners’ transitions from secondary to postsecondary education, workforce to post-secondary education, undergraduate to graduate or professional studies, and postsecondary education and training to the workforce; and
  • PARTNERSHIPS: Strengthen partnerships and collaboration in promoting Aboriginal learners’ access to and success in postsecondary education and training.


The AEC will be made up of College staff members who have an interest in Aboriginal education. It could also have external Aboriginal members from community organizations with whom the College partners in the area of education, as well as Aboriginal students and/or graduate students. Ideally, the membership of the AEC will reflect the diversity of the communities in which our campuses and partners are located.

Chosen representatives, including the chairperson, will remain in their seats on the AEC for a two year term which may be renewable. As seats become vacant, new members will be recruited based on interest.

AEC membership will be confirmed on an annual basis by Nov. 1 of each calendar year.

AEC Membership

Rick Anderson  SLC
Marg Hogan  SLC
Lou Anne Hamilton  SLC
Nicola Thomas  SLC
Shirley Chaisson  SLC
Kim Lockwood  SLC  (alumni)
Amanda Lacosse  SLC  (recording secretary)
Mary Ann Lyons  SLC
Elaine Jeffrey  Metis Nation of Ontario
Sandy Maracle  Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte
Patti Brinklow  Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte
Sheila LaFrance  Mohawks of Akwesasne
Laura Maracle  Queen’s University

Decision Making:

Ideally, decisions of the AEC will be made by a process of consensus-building. Consensus is a traditional Aboriginal way of reaching a decision; consensus means that everyone present agrees with a decision or can accept the decision. The AEC will take the time to hear from all parties involved; everyone has a voice.

If consensus cannot be achieved after a reasonable amount of time and discussion, the issue will be resolved by a vote called at the discretion of the chairperson of the AEC. In the event of such a vote, quorum shall be 50% of the membership plus one.


Meetings of the AEC will be held a minimum of three times per year: once in the fall, the winter, and the spring. These meeting times will be planned in advance. Additional meetings may be called as necessary. Written notice of meetings and an agenda shall be sent out by the recording secretary on behalf of the Chair at least ten days prior to the meeting.


A recording secretary will be available to record minutes, which will be distributed in a timely fashion to all other members.  The AEC minutes will be posted on the St. Lawrence College website.

Review of Terms of Reference:

These terms of reference shall be reviewed annually by members of the AEC.